A Year Ago Today…

It’s been exactly a year to the day since I left University and started working full time (I left uni the day before I moved house and started work – it was a crazy weekend!)

Working full time has definitely impacted upon my healthy eating and exercise habits. I found it so hard going from having loads of free time to very little at all. But I think i’m finally getting the hang of it. I’ve realised that exercise especially is something that I have to make time for.

I’ll do a detailed post on this later in the week. But for now, here’s a picture of me before my Summer Ball – the day before I left Cardiff. It was an amazing – if very sad – night. I had the best three years of my life at that place, I can’t believe it’s been a year since I left!

2008_0605ball0010

This was taken last June, when I was at my happiest weight. By November, I’d put on about 14 pounds – mainly as a result of too many office cakes, too much sitting still and not enough exercise. The weight is slowly coming off again, and this time i’m determined to keep it off.

That said, I’m also making a real effort not to get too preoccupied with the number on the scale. I want to concentrate on making healthy choices, eating whole foods, improving my fitness and increasing my self-confidence.

To all those students and graduates out there – what is/was your favourite thing about University or College?

3 Responses to A Year Ago Today…

  1. A says:

    It is SO HARD staying healthy while working full time…. but if I can do it you can too!! 🙂
    -A

    • smallchangesaddup says:

      Thanks A :). My work server won’t let me on blogspot, but I’ll definitely check yours out when I get home.

  2. irunisweat says:

    In college, my favorite thing was being able to make my own schedule. Oh and not paying on student loans! I’m adding you to my blogroll. Seems we started this venture at the same time =)
    -Whitney

Leave a Reply

