How I came to enjoy running

I woke up this morning in a much better mood, but very hungry! Breakfast was my usual bowl of muesli – this time with lots and lots of blueberries.

I’ll post pictures of my meals later, but in the meantime I want to tell you all about my upcoming 5K! It’s part of the Cancer Research UK Race for Life series, and is taking place on July 26th. I’m running it with my friends Emma and Amanda and I can’t wait. We’ve raised quite a bit of money already and it’s completely fuelled my passion for running.

I ran the Race for Life – my first and so far only race – two years ago, with Emma and my sister (I’m on the left):

race for life 2

Here we are posing for the camera before the race. I look back at this and I look so young!

I’ve never been a sporty person and I used to hate sports lessons at school. But I thought the race would be fun, so I went and signed up. I did absolutely no training and ended up walking half of the 3.1 miles.

This time round I was determined to train properly, so back in February I began going out for little jogs in the evenings. At first, I could bearly run half a mile without having to stop. But instead of giving up like I usually do, I kept persisting and slowly but surely I improved. Each time I went out I managed to run a little bit further, and I felt better and better. It’s amazing how much more enjoyable running is when you don’t feel like you’re going to die the whole time!

Then about two months ago I got a knee injury. I’m pretty sure this was the result of me running in really old trainers that didn’t give me enough support. If you’re thinking of taking up running, please, please GO OUT AND BUY PROPER RUNNING SHOES. Don’t make the same mistake as me! I also think I pushed myself too far, too soon. I went from doing no exercise whatsoever to running pretty much every night.

These are my new running shoes which I absolutely love:

trainer

 

My injury forced me to stop running for about six weeks, and it’s only in the last couple of weeks I’ve started up again. This time I’m trying to take things slowly. I’m only doing about a mile at a time, a couple of times a week. My race is in about a month, and I’m hoping I’ll be fully mended by then! I’d love to be able to run the whole thing without stopping. I know 3.1 miles isn’t much of an accomplishment for all the marathon runners out there, but considering how out of shape I was just a few months ago it’d be such an achievement for me.

I’m also planning on signing up for a 10K in October – I’m well and truly hooked on this whole running business!

What’s your favourite form of exercise? Have you always been sporty or is it something you found a passion for later in life?

5 Responses to How I came to enjoy running

  1. Leah says:

    We need to get together sometime! I’d love to have a running buddy. What gym do you go to???

    I did the Race for Life in Sutton Park a couple of years ago. I enjoyed it so much!

  2. Leah says:

    Oh and my favourite form would definitely be things such as running or the classes at the gym. I love them!! I’ve always been into sports. When I was younger I played on the school sports teams and really enjoyed it.

  3. Hey!! Thanks for stopping by at my blog. I really do need to change and hopefully with all the support I get, I will be able to!!

  4. stephchows says:

    That’s great that you are doing the race for life! I just sponsored my friends sister who is doing it here in the US 🙂 UGGG to all the injuries but I’m glad to hear you are taking it slow and coming back strong! I used to HATE running but now I love going for 3-4 mile runs. It mellows me out just watching the scenery and listening to music 🙂

  5. Lori says:

    Running in any form is a great accomplishment. Don’t sell yourself short by saying “only” 3 miles! My running story is a lot like yours, minus the injury (knock on wood).

    Biking is still my first love, though!

Leave a Reply

