London’s Calling

 I have some exciting news – I might be moving to London! I graduated from University in Cardiff last year and then ended up moving home (which is about 45 minutes outside of London) back in Decemeber. Now, as much as I love my parents, I’m really missing having my own space. I can’t afford to move out on my own, but one of my friends (a guy I’ve known pretty much all my life) has just got a job there, so we’re going to start researching flats. We still need to work out if we’re going to be able to afford it so nothing’s definite yet, but it’s still exciting. I’ve dreamed of living in London since I was little!

As far as meals are concerned…I had to leave the house at 7am today and we had very little food left in the kitchen, so I was tempted to just buy lunch at work rather than bring my own in. But after rummaging through the fridge, I found enough to make this wrap:

2006_0130food0003

Inside: sliced ham, rocket, spinach, tomatoes, yellow pepper and sprouts. Seeing as last night’s ‘dinner’ was so pathetic I decided to load up on as many veggies as possible! I’m not a big fan of ham to be honest, but that was pretty much the only protein source left in the fridge.

2006_0130food0004

On the side I had some mango:

2006_0130food0007

I find it really hard to think of easily portable lunches to bring in to work, so I usually just stick to sandwiches and salads. If anyone has any more exciting ideas, please share them with me! I’m trying to make my own lunch every day rather than buy it at work – it’s so much cheaper and healthier.

Dinner was grilled salmon with lots of veg – I was trying to use up everything in the fridge since it’s the end of the week. This was the star ingredient:

2006_0130food0001

Bet you can’t guess where I picked this up! Yup – New Orleans. I got it a couple of years ago when I was on my American road trip (I’ll tell that story one day soon), and it’s been lying at the back of the cupboard ever since. But I found it a couple of weeks ago and have used it quite a bit. It makes salmon so much more interesting.

Veggies included advocado, tomato, broccoli and baby sweetcorn. I’d usually have rice or potatoes too, but seeing as I had so much other stuff I decided not to bother.

2006_0130food0014

After dinner I was really craving ice-cream, which is rare for me. I found this caramel one in the freezer and made myself a little bowl. It was delicious. There were loads of little fudge bits and lots of caramel sauce. I need to have ice-cream more often I think!

2006_0130food0015

Right, I’m off to find me a flat! Check back here over the weekend for an interview with one of the blogging world’s best-loved bloggers.

Where do you guys all live? Where would your dream home be?

Leave a Reply

