Bike Ride and a Highschool Reunion

 

So what did I end up doing with my free morning? Well, I wanted to fit some kind of exerice in. Normally I’d go for a run, but since my injury I’ve been trying to limit my running. And since I’m going for one tomorrow, I thought it would probably be a bad idea. So out came the bike! I haven’t ridden my bike for about three years, but I wasn’t about to let that deter me. After a bit of a wobbly start I was fine – I guess the saying is true, you never forget how to ride a bike.

I headed towards a park near me. I go running here sometimes, and we used to go here all the time when I was little.

2006_0131food0009

It’s really pretty, with loads of woodland and a lake. With ducks!

2006_0131food0010

 Unfortunately, when I got to the lake I saw this:

2006_0131food0013

Oops! I quickly turned around and went off into the woods instead. It was such a nice ride, it’s definitely made me want to get on the bike more often. There were hardly any people around, so it was so peaceful. And it was fun doing a different kind of exercise. I was out for about an hour in total, which was long enough to work up a bit of a sweat.

2006_0131food0020

I was starving when I got in! Lunch was a bit of an odd combo – I made a tofu, broccoli and carrot stirfry, and added a slice of bread on the side for some carbs. I’m trying to be more adventurous with my meals and escape the usual ‘sandwich or salad?’ mentality. I only first tried tofu a few month ago and I really like it. Does anyone have any tofu recipes?

After lunch I met up with my friend Aimee in Windsor, a nice town near me (and also where the Queen lives!) This is us in front of the castle. I’ve known this girl since I was six days old! Our mums met when they were taking us out in our prams around the neighbourhood. We went to school together but then ended up losing touch when we went to universities on opposite sides of the country. I’m so glad we’ve started hanging out again. She’s great fun, and appreciates nice, wholesome food as much as I do.

2006_0131windsor0023

 For dinner, we decided to check out a Greek restaurant called The Green Olive. We met up with another girl we went to school with, who I haven’t seen for about four years. We had a lot to catch up on! The menu had loads of lovely sounding dishes, so we decided to get lots of little plates to share.

2006_0131windsor0030

2006_0131windsor0035

We chose:

  • Houmous with pitta
  • Melitzanosalata (an eggland and feta dip)
  • Greek salad
  • Stuffed vine leaves
  • Tabui
  • Fried octopus

I definitely polished off my fair share of this! The vine leaves and octopus were amazing. I hardly ever have fried foods these days, but didn’t think a little bit would do any harm. I love Greek food, I find it always tastes really fresh and light compared to things like Indian and Chinese. I felt full, but not overly stuffed, afterwards.

Which meant I had room for a couple of these…

2006_0131windsor0046

There’s nothing I love more than a great cocktail. We went to one of my favourite bars and spent a couple of hours catching up and playing pool. And taking even more photos!

2006_0131windsor0047

When we were walking back over the river on the way home I couldn’t help but stop and capture the view:

2006_0131windsor0078

Such a good day!

On the agenda for tomorrow:

  • A run with my friend Emma
  • Food shopping with my mum
  • Finally posting my interview with Caitlin
  • Maybe a bit of baking too

Hope you’re all enjoying your weekends! What’s your idea of the perfect weekend?

3 Responses to Bike Ride and a Highschool Reunion

  1. Six days old, wow! Cute pics. It’s nice to “meet” you!

  2. Amy says:

    Has anyone ever told you that you look like Scarlett Johansson? I think you do.

    • smallchangesaddup says:

      A couple of people have said that before. I don’t really see it myself, but hey – I’m not complaining! Thanks for checking out the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

