Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

2009_0116Capetown0244

I love this pic, it was taken on the beach in Cape Town in January. Now I’m not really one for mushy stuff so i’ll keep this short. In a nutshell, my dad’s pretty great. He’s always been completely supportive (emotionally and financially!), no more so than when I started my healthy living quest. While my mum has turned her nose up at my new ways of eating, my dad has embraced the world of steamed veg, wholegrain bread and meat substitutes. He’s listened to me ramble on about running and he even dug out my old bike and pumped the tires up for me yesterday. I’ve yet to convert him to Green Monster smoothies, but I’m working on it!

I’m going out for dinner with my mum and dad tonight to celebrate. We’ve chosen a little pub/bistro place nearby called The Red Lion that we go to quite a lot. There’s always a nice atmosphere and the food is great. In fact, I’ve already looked at the menu online and chosen what I’m going to have. Do any of you do that or am I just strange?!

I think I’m going to go for: “Spiced Roasted Butternut Squash + Red Onion + Red Pepper + Watercress + Toasted Seeds + Pomegranate.”  I’ll let know all know if it’s as nice as it sounds!

As for the rest of my day…this morning started with a Green Monster which included:

  • Spinach
  • A Banana
  • Milk
  • Natural yoghurt
  • Peanut Butter

2006_0201food0001

This is the first time I’ve tried peanut butter in a smoothie and it was so good! You could definitely taste it, even though I only put about a teaspoon in. I’ll definitely be making it a regular addition.

Mid-morning I went for a run with my friend Emma. We only did about half an hour or so, but something is better than nothing right? I’m still concerned about pushing myself too much and aggrivating my knee again. At the moment it feels fine and I’d like to keep it that way – touch wood!

When I got back I was really hungry so I made myself a second breakfast of muesli and strawberries. Just so you all know, I’ve been tending not to post all of my meals/snacks unless they’re particularly interesting. I’m assuming you all won’t want to see pictures of apples and muesli all the time? (I eat these a lot!) I’m definitely a big snacker though, especially at work.

Lunch was a tofu sandwich with peach chutney and sprouts. Plus a lovely colourful salad of apple, spinach, yellow pepper, tomato and cucumber:

2006_0201food0005

2006_0201food0009

 

Right, I’m off out. I hope everyone’s having a lovely Father’s Day!

What’s the best thing about your Dad?  I love the fact mine is so good at all the practical stuff like fixing cars and  computers…whenever anything goes wrong I always go running to him for help!

6 Responses to

  1. Aww, your dad sounds like a cool guy 🙂
    I think the best thing about my dad is that, growing up, he always made sure I learned the lesson. He said it was the hardest thing to watch us make mistakes but would let us if he knew we would learn something. I think that’s a wonderful gift a parent can give us!

  2. Madison says:

    The best thing about my dad is his patience and trust. I know I can come to him for anything, even if I have made a mistake and know he does not approve, and he will listen to me and give me great advice.

    He is very quiet but has the kindest, sweetest eyes and I always know what he is thinking!

    🙂

    By the way, your dad seems so great!

  3. A says:

    What a sweet post about your Dad! He sounds great! Mine is wonderful too! I’d say the best thing about mine is his advice. I can always go to him with a problem and he always has the pefect solution. Have fun at dinner tonight! Also, I always try to view menus online before I go into a restuarant!!! Lowers the chances of impulse ordering!
    -A

  4. Becky says:

    Mmm! I can’t wait to try a Green Monster tomorrow! And I love the post about your dad! He sounds a lot like mine, he’s definitely a “Mr.Fix-it” which I totally love!

  5. burpexcuzme says:

    Aw, beautiful post about your dad! You should let your dad read this one post…bet he’ll be beaming for the rest of the day!
    Wow…dinner sounds SO tantalizing…I can’t wait for your review! Butternut squash is my fav!
    Oh, and my fav thing abt my dad: He is freaking wise and he gives amazing advice and nuggets of insight and wisdom.

  6. Hi! I just found your blog today and loved reading it. I’m also started mine this month and have ‘met’ many wonderful bloggers.
    Awww, your Dad sounds amazing. My Dad is my favorite person in the entire planet because I can talk to him about anything under the sun: from career advice to Britney Spears! 😀
    P.S. I love carrot and banana bread (I actually made some this weekend) and I’ll give your recipe a try soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

