Blogger Interview

Everyone has their favourite bloggers, people they admire, can relate to and love to read about. For me, Caitlin is definitely one of those people. Healthy Tipping Point was one of the first food blogs I ever came across, and it’s still one of the ones I read every single day. In fact, Caitlin was one of the people who inspired me to start a blog of my own (along with Lara, Meghann and Leah). So I was really excited when she agreed to do a Q&A session with me.

Read on for Caitlin’s thoughts on everything from food and fitness to blogging and Britney!

caitlin

Caitlin, what would your perfect day of meals be?
 
Oooo good question! My perfect breakfast would be a bunch of whole wheat pancakes with a banana mixed in Oikos yogurt.  Lunch would be a yummy wrap — maybe a BBQ tofu, black bean, and sweet potato wrap! — with lots of veggies on the side.  And a piece of chocolate for dessert. 🙂  Dinner would be some spicy Thai food from my favorite take-out place.  And my favorite snacks include fruit, fruit, and more fruit!  I can eat fruit til I’m blue in the face!

How you are finding being a vegetarian? Any plans to convert to veganism any time soon?
 
I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE being a vegetarian.  This is my third attempt to go veggie and this time it’s just so right.  I think if being vegetarian is “hard” for you than you just aren’t ready for full-on vegetarian, and there is nothing wrong with being a flexitarian! I don’t think I’m going to go vegan anytime soon.  I would fine it really restrictive because I love dairy and would be sad if I gave it up.  I think all vegetarians have to deal with the realization that on some level, you are a hypocrite for eating any animal products if you don’t believe eating meat is morally correct.  But, you have to draw the line somewhere with what works best for you.

You share my love for oatmeal, but what’s your favourite toppings/mix-ins?
 
Best oatmeal ever was my Upside Pineapple Cake oatmeal! Here’s the recipe.

So many people log on to your blog every day – what is it about you and your story you think people can relate to so easily?
 
Well, I think there are two reasons I’ve found success with blogging.  The first is that I’m really dedicated to the actual blogging part — I spend probably 10 hours a week blogging, answering emails (I answer every single one), and planning blog-related stuff like the Healthy Living Summit (www.healthylivingsummit.com).  Secondly, I think people like my blog because I’m just a regular person.  I’m not especially fast at running or especially talented at cooking, but I try hard to be the best I can be.  I’m an “everywomen”, you could say!  I’ve always thought that if I could do it (run a 5K, a 10K, a half marathon), other people could, too.  🙂

In your opinion, what makes a successful blog? What makes you read certain blogs every day?
 
I think you need to have a niche.  Something that makes you different. There are thousands of blogs out there that just say “here’s what I ate for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.”  To a point, people don’t care what you ate, they want to know what ELSE you did.  I think a successful “food” blog approaches healthy living holistically — it can’t just be able what you eat, it has to be able how you exercise and stay mentally positivity.  Also, you must be dedicated to your posting schedule, whether it is several times a day or once a day or once a week.  Readers like to know what’s coming, so if you just stop posting for a whole week, you will lose readers.  I usually delete blogs from my Google Reader if people haven’t blogged in two weeks without explanation (like I’m on vacation).

Running has been such a big part of your life for the last few years – how did you manage to stay so positive and upbeat when you were on your hiatus? How does it feel being able to run again?
 
I think life is a series of choices. You can chose to be positive or chose to be depressed.  Why chose to be depressed? Life is hard enough as it is.  I have an extremely supportive husband who is always there with a great pep talk, too!  It feel WONDERFUL to run again.  I will never take a single run for granted!
You seem to really enjoy exercising, but how do you motivate yourself when you have those ‘I just can’t be bothered’ days?
 
Truthfully, if I cannot be bothered, I don’t work out.  I normally want to exercise because I find it enjoyable, but once in a while I’d rather lay on the couch.  So I do!  Or, I try to do something else that isn’t “exercise” but it still active, like going on a walk!

Just for fun…I love that you live Britney just as much as I do! What’s your all-time favourite song?
 
HAHAH Let’s see….. I would have to say it’s Hit Me Baby One More Time.  Seriously, that song is a classic.

Finally, I love Operation Beautiful! You must be thrilled at the way it’s taken off? You must feel strongly about issues of body image and self confidence?
 
OHMIGOD. OB has exploded. I almost don’t know what to do with it! I hope it’s a permanent thing and not just a flash in the pan. We’ll see. I hope it grows and continues to evolve.  I’ve bought a domain name in case I need to make it a separate blog — which I think might happen! 🙂 Really, like I said above, I just think life is hard enough without being a positive person. And if Operation Beautiful can spread some positivity, I’d be so happy!

(Since this interview was carried out, Operation Beautiful has acquired its own blog! Check it out here.)

Thanks Caitlin! Question time for everyone else! Who are your favourite bloggers? How have they inspired you?

8 Responses to Blogger Interview

  1. rediscoveringlauren says:

    loved this interview 🙂 caitlin is one of my blogging idols lol! shes awesome and all of her anwsers were great!!

    thanks for the comment on my blog by the way 🙂 it was really sweet!! i read your last entry, im glad you had a nice day with your friends 🙂 and your really beautiful by the way!!
    take care girlie

    • smallchangesaddup says:

      Ahh thanks so much Lauren! Hope you’re having a lovely day with your day. How’s the weather over in Ireland? It’s still not great here!

  2. operationbeautiful says:

    yay thank you for doing the fun intereview!

    caitlin
    http://www.healthytippingpotin.com

  3. Awww, thank you so much for the shout out. This is such a fun, great interview! You really had some interesting questions for her.
    I’m not sure I could possibly pick my favorite bloggers. The first food blog I ever read was Eat Like Me, so that has a special place in my heart 🙂
    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  4. Kimberly says:

    Great interview!! I love Caitlin and her blog, too :0) There are way too many blogs I love to just pick one but I love Jenna’s blog (Eat, Live, Run) and Meghann’s blog (Inner Workings of a College Graduate)to just name a couple!

  5. Baylee says:

    Hey girlie! Im glad you found my blog!!! I love yours and i will defiantely continue to read!!!

    Im definately in LOVE with Operation Beautiful!!!

  6. Nicole says:

    Fun! Very nice interview 🙂 I love Caitlin’s blog!

  7. Kaye says:

    LOVED this interview…even though I read Healthy Tipping Point daily, I still learned interesting things from this post 🙂 Thanks!
    Good luck with your blog!

Leave a Reply

