Things I’ve learned from food blogs

Sorry for the late post, work has been absolutely manic this morning (I probably shouldn’t be blogging at work at all, but I figure I’m allowed a little break here and there!) 

Breakfast was muesli with strawberries, raspberries and skimmed milk. I know I have this a lot, but it’s just so good. And easily transportable, too (I eat breakfast at work).

2009_0521food0333

In case you’re wondering, this is the brand of muesli I eat day to day:

2006_0202food0012

2006_0202food0018

2006_0202food0015

I love that it’s organic, sugar and salt-free and wheat-free. I have nothing against wheat, but I eat a lot of bread so it’s nice to have grains like barley and rye in the mornings.

Anyway… as I mentioned yesterday, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how great the blogging community is, and how much food blogs have taught me. So I decided to make a little list of the main things I’ve learned:

  • Green Monsters are fab – seriously, if you haven’t tried these – do it. I’m still amazed how you can shove a whole load of spinach into a smoothie and not even be able to taste it.
  • Peanut butter goes with everything – I used to think peanut butter was something you put on toast. Oh how my horizons have expanded! Oatmeal, cereal, smoothies, cookies – the list is endless.
  • Running DOES get easier with practise – I’ve always thought running was a natural gift you either had or you didn’t. But since reading fitness blogs I’ve learned that, with a lot of determination and perseverance, even I can come to enjoy – and be good at – running.
  • Balance is key – one bowl of ice-cream is not going to make me fat. Healthy living is all about balance and moderation – you can enjoy chocolate and still lose/maintain weight.
  • I’m not alone – so many people struggle with eating well and having a positive body image. Reading food blogs has made me realise I’m not alone. It’s such a great community and I’m so proud to be a part of it.
  • Eating well should not be a chore it should be something you enjoy and want to do. If you don’t enjoy the foods you eat, then what’s the point?

Have a nice day everyone!

13 Responses to Things I’ve learned from food blogs

  1. Wow I second all of those tips! I have learned SO much from food blogs!

    • smallchangesaddup says:

      Thanks so much for your comment Angela – I LOVE Oh She Glows. Congrats on your 10k, it was great hearing about the race and watching the video too.

  2. Johanna B says:

    I, too, have learned so much from the food and healthy living blogs. I started my own so I could be a part of the community.

    I just added you to my blogroll. Keep on writing.

    • smallchangesaddup says:

      Thanks Johanna! Blogspot is blocked at work, but I’ll check out your blog later tonight. Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂

  3. […] reading Sam’s awesome post on what she has learned from food blogs, I knew I had to reflect on it myself! There is so much […]

  4. Kailey says:

    heck yes peanut butter goes with everything 😀

  5. lowandbhold says:

    Great post! I totally agree on all those points! Especially the running and the GM’s!

  6. Valerie says:

    I’ve learned a lot of awesome things too!

    Oh and running definitely does get easier! When I started out I could barely run for 30 seconds straight. Now I’ve worked my way up to 25 minutes at a time and I’m training to run a 5K in the fall (perhaps sooner if I find another one).

  7. stephchows says:

    The blogging community really does rock! Sounds like you’ve learned a ton 🙂 I know I have! And I’m always reading and learning more 🙂

  8. Nicole says:

    Goodness, I’ve learned all the same stuff! Wooo, blogging!

  9. Madison says:

    That list of what you learned rings so true to me too. I would of never tried the green monsters, if it weren’t for food blogs. AND I would never have heard about all the different ways to use peanut butter.

    Man, I don’t even know what I was eating before I started loving food blogs. haha. Do you?

  10. Thanks for the great post! The blogging community has not only taught me a lot about food and running but has also motivated me since I started this month. Now I can run 4 miles.

  11. Great post- I love your list of things you’ve learned from blogging. The peanut butter tip is great- I finally (after seeing it all over blogworld) tried it in my smoothie this morning- heavenly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

