A Big Snacker

I decided to mix breakfast up a bit today, mainly because I’m sure you’re all bored of hearing about my muesli and strawberries! Strawberries did feature, but so did raspberries, blueberries and mango. I put them all together to make a huge fruit salad.

2006_0203food0023

I topped this with loads of fat-free natural yoghurt. The mango and the yoghurt made such a nice change! I normally have a carb-heavy breakfast though, so I’m not sure how long this will keep me full for. But as usual I have a stash of snacks in my desk draw to keep me going throughout the day.

As you might have noticed, I’m a huge snacker. I always have at least two snacks a day, but usually it’s more like four or five. I’m definitely the kind of person who prefers to eat little and often – I find it keeps me more satisfied than three meals a day (especially during the week when I’m sitting at a desk all day).

My favourite snacks include:

  • Fruit – mainly apples, pears and bananas because they’re so easy to transport. But I’m happy with any fruit to be honest.
  • Vegetables – carrot sticks, cucumber sticks, sugar snap peas. Even better, is veggie sticks with hummus.
  • Oat cakes and rice cakes – I tend to keep these in my desk draw for when snack attacks come on.
  • Nuts and seeds – I could probably eat nuts every day if I let myself. Brazil nuts are my favourite, but I also love pecans and almonds.
  • Coffee – I’m really trying to limit my coffee intake at the moment, but some days I just need that cappuccino!
  • Chocolate – at the end of the day, the only thing that can satisfy a chocolate craving is chocolate itself. I definitely eat a lot less than I used to, but I still have some at least a couple of times a week.
  • Bars – did I mention I’m obsessed with bars? Check out the huge stash I have in my room:

2006_0203food0033

It’s an addiction I tell you! In here I’ve got:

  • Clif Bars
  • Luna Bars
  • Z bars
  • Larabars
  • Trek bars
  • Nakd bars

The Clif, Luna and Z bars  (and the PB) were sent to me by a lovely blogger called Megan as part of a bar swap we did. Then of course the nakd and trek bars were kindly sent to me by Natural Balance Foods last week. So that’s the reason I have so many! When I see bars on special offer and/or I find ones that aren’t sold in many places (like larabars), I tend to stock up.  I’ll slowly be making my way through these over the next few months! As a side note, I’m absolutely dying to try some Kashi bars if anyone fancies sending some my way (you can’t get them in the UK).  Hey, it’s worth a shot, right?!

What are your favourite snacks? Are you a big snacker or do you prefer to have three big meals a day?

9 Responses to A Big Snacker

  1. Alison says:

    I have 3 meals a day and maybe 1 or 2 small snacks, depending on my hunger levels. My favorite snacks are usually something sweet, so it’s usually involves fruit, yogurt, granola, maybe even a little dark chocolate! 😉

  2. Kailey says:

    i am a huge snacker myself, but I love calorie dense snacks. haha I really enjoy a huge bowl of high protein/fiber cereal, like optimum slim. It provides a nice crunch to make me feel satisfied

  3. Therese says:

    I it feels like I am eating all day long! It’s always healthy and low calorie but I think grabbing a snack here and there does break up the monotony of a desk job.

    Stick with what works for you!

  4. Johanna B says:

    I keep snacks in the office: string cheese, Lara Bars, yogurt, fruit, chocolate and nuts. I pretty much always have a snack mid-afternoon but breakfast usually holds me to lunch except when I work 12 hour shifts on the week-ends.

  5. Valerie says:

    I snack 2-3 times a day, usually in the afternoon and evening. I find it keeps me from overeating or making bad choices at meal times since I never get super hungry.

  6. rediscoveringlauren says:

    im a huge snacker too 🙂 i usually have at least one bar a day cause i love them so much! i love the maple nut clif bars, theyre so good! and the choc chip ones are good too!
    i snack mid morning and mid afternoon, oh and in the evening too!
    have a great day hun!

  7. Madison says:

    I am a snacker because I like to keep my energy level for the day. I do not like all the dips when I just eat 3 times a day.

    Some of my favorite snacks include: fruit, yogurt, rice cakes with peanut butter, piece of toast with peanut butter and apple butter, and DEF dark chocolate!

  8. lowandbhold says:

    Holy Moly that’s Bar Heaven!!

    I’m definitely a snacker. Like you, I sit at a desk all day and sometimes I just want an excuse to get up, haha! I like cottage cheese and fruit as a snack, it’s been most popular with me lately!

  9. Isha says:

    I’m such a snacker! I fill up really quickly, but that also means that I get hungry frequently. I need to eat about every 3 hours, but when it’s the weekend and I’m at home… yeah I definitely snack more often than that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

