A New Love

Ok, I’ve decided this morning’s oatmeal is the best meal ever. I had it at 8am and it kept me full until lunch at about 2.30pm. And this is coming from the world’s biggest snacker!

When I eventually got round to making lunch, I had to dig deep into the cupboards as the fridge was looking pretty empty. I found this:

2006_0204food0037

I emptied the packet into a saucepan, added water and left to stand for five minutes. Then I chopped up some cucumber and some peppers and ta-da. Quickest meal ever.

2006_0204food0041

By about 4pm I was really craving fruit, so I put this little bowl of raspberries, blueberries and passion fruit together.

2006_0205food0004

2006_0205food0005

This is the first time I’ve ever bought passion fruit, and I loved it. It really livened up the berries.

Sweet potato featured again at dinner, this time in baked form. I put it in the microwave for 5 minutes, then in the oven for about 20 until it was nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

I topped it with cottage cheese and had some broccoli on the side.

2006_0205food0007

Unfortunately the potato tasted a bit off – it wasn’t sweet at all. Normally I love this meal, but I was disappointed this time.

On the agenda for tonight:

  • Figure and when, where and how to get a new wing mirror
  • Make my bedroom less of a tip
  • Sort out flights and accomodation for Thailand (this is the most exciting yet definitely the most stressful thing on this list)
  • Get an early night – I’m shattered!

My crash this morning basically happened because I was running late, rushing and not paying attention. It’s made me realise I need to work at becoming more organized. It’ll make my life a lot easier!

Are you organized or are you more of a ‘leave it to the last minute’ kind of person?

4 Responses to A New Love

  1. lowandbhold says:

    I love reading your blog just for the fun things you say! Does your room being a “tip” mean it’s messy? Why/when are you going to Thailand?! That’s SO EXCITING!

    I totally feel ya on the rushed thing, I’ve just now gotten to the point where I feel mostly organized. I used to be a mess in the mornings before work, but now I kind of have a routine.

    Good luck with your to-do list!

    • Hehe, yes it means it’s messy! What other things do I say? I love how the English language can differ so much between two countries! I could start referring to my oatmeal as porridge (that’s what we call it over here) too if you like! Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog :).

  2. Maria says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your car! I would have totally freaked out too (my dad takes care of those things for me as well).

    I’m usually very organized and tend to have my whole schedule planned out, but if I sometimes I don’t meet the times, and I usually get in a rush anyway :P.

    What components of the breakfast do you think made it so filling? I am a huge morning snacker here even though I eat oatmeal+green monsters for breakfast.

    • Maria, I definitely think it’s the mix of oats, peanut butter, banana and nuts. All those things on their own are quite filling and calorie-dense (well maybe not oats, but the rest it), so when you put them together they’re mega filling! I don’t think I’ve ever had a meal that’s kept me full and satisfied for so long. Plus it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

