My Poor Car

So today started just like any other. I got up, got ready for work and headed out the door about 7am. I got into my car, started to reverse out of my drive way…and then BANG. Somehow I managed to drive into the trash bin and knock my wing mirror off in the process. I’m such an idiot! I taped it all up, but I was in such a state that I phoned my manager and asked if I could work from home today. I really didn’t fancy a two-hour round trip with a wobbly wing mirror.

2006_0204food0048

2006_0204food0049

I know it’s only a mirror, and it’s not the end of the world, but I was so upset this morning. I tend to freak out over things like this because I never know what to do. My dad usually sorts these things out for me, but he’s away at the moment. I was literally in tears for about an hour. I’ve cheered up a bit now, but I’m still not impressed I’ll have to fork out about £100 for a new one.

Since I’m working from home, I had time to make myself an extra-special breakfast. Cue oatmeal with lots of yumminess sprinkled on top:

2006_0204food0050

2006_0204food0051

Toppings: banana, PB&Co Raisin and Cinnamon Swirl peanut putter, hazelnuts, sultanas and almonds. This was heaven! It’s the first time I’ve tried the banana and peanut butter combo in oatmeal and it was so, so good. And all the nuts added some crunch. This was literally the perfect meal!  Plus it was so big, it’s kept me going all morning.

Operation Beautiful

As I said yesterday, I took some Operation Beautiful post-it notes (along with my camera of course!) on my run last night. I posted about five in total, sticking them up at random points along my route. Here’s one I posted on a huge tree at the end of my road.

2006_0204food0023

2006_0204food0024

 This route is popular with dog walkers, so hopefully a few people would have seen it this morning. On a side note, I managed to run about two and a half miles in total – the furthest since my knee injury. Operation Beautiful obviously had a positive impact!

Enjoy your mornings everyone :). I’m off to make a nice lunch (since I’m at home today I’ll have something more interesting than a sandwich to post) and watch Wimbledon. If only I could work from home every day!

What are your favourite oatmeal toppings? Banana and PB is a winner as far as I’m concerned!

5 Responses to My Poor Car

  1. What a bummer on your car!! I tend to initially freak out over things like that, then try to reign myself in and put it in perspective later. Great job on the run!

    • Thanks for the comment :). I completely agree about putting things into perspective. No-one was hurt and it won’t cost a fortune to replace. Plus I’ll definitely be more careful in future!

  2. lowandbhold says:

    So sorry about your car! I get really upset when I do things like that too. I’m a really clumsy driver too!

    I love that you are taking Operation Beautiful out in nature!

  3. Johanna B says:

    It’s too bad that in this day and age cars can’t grow their own spare parts. I freak out over car casualties as well — all the expense and aggravation.

    Hope the rest of the day goes well for you.

  4. Awww, sorry about the car. I’m all the way in Japan so I have to watch Wimbledon late night to the wee hours of the morning. :s

    I love oatmeal so any topping would do. PB and banana is definitely yummy! Have you tried a really ripe mango on your oatmeal? It’s pretty good, too.

Leave a Reply

