Hummus, Falafel and a Little Black Dress

Thanks for all your support regarding this morning’s post, it’s nice to hear other people’s views on the subject. I think to a certain extent I do worry too much about what others think of me. I really need to start focusing more on what makes me happy, rather than getting caught up with how other people see me. Eating well makes me feel good about myself and my body, and the people that matter the most support me, so that’s what’s important.

London was fun this morning, but it was also a bit scary finding out just how expensive it will be to live there. Did you know London is the most expensive city in the world? I need to do a lot of sums to figure out if it’s feasible.

After looking around a few different areas in the north of the city, we stopped for lunch about 2pm. My breakfast held me over until then perfectly…big breakfasts are definitely the way to go on weekends! We went to Nando’s, a popular chain restaurant over here (do you have it in the US?) After browsing all the options, I went for the beanie pitta

2006_0207food0001

 This is what it looked like when it arrived:

2006_0207food0003

I was impressed. I’ve only ever gotten chicken dishes from Nando’s before, but this was easily as good. The bean pattie had big chunks of vegetables and beans in and just the right amount of cheese. Plus the pitta was stuffed with salad leaves, cabbage and a pineapple ring. I’ll definitely get this again.

I was in my usual snacky mood this afternoon. Eats included a couple of apricots, some strawberries and raspberries, a handful of nuts and half a cereal bar. It sounds like a lot written down, but I’m really trying to eat intuitively at the moment, and listen to what my body wants – and when it wants it.

I was craving lots of fresh veg for dinner, so I made a platter featuring falafel, hummus, carrots, cherry tomatos, cucumber and a slice of French bread.

 2006_0207food0013

 I love falafel and hummus together – such a good combo. I thought I’d need something else after this, but I’m actually really full. Must have been all the snacks!

I’m off out soon for my friend Emma’s 22nd birthday. I’ve known her since I was 11 years old, and she’s one of my best friends in the world. I missed her birthday last year, so I can’t wait to celebrate with her tonight! We’re going out for cocktails and then on to a club. Here’s a quick peek at my dress…

2006_0207food0011

I bought it in the Topshop sale about a month ago, but I haven’t had a chance to wear it yet. What are your plans for this Saturday night?

5 Responses to Hummus, Falafel and a Little Black Dress

  1. I love Nando’s! I lived in London for 8 years and wanted to move back, but it’s so expensive…even the Boots meal deal costs more than anywhere else, and the tube is INSANE (and not even good 😛 ) Nice place to visit, but not to live… 😉

    Love your dress- my Saturday night is low-key (I got up at 4 so am kind of crashed out on the sofa right now!)

    have a great night!

  2. Nando’s lover, here! I just ordered that a couple weeks ago and was also pleasantly surprised! The last time I checked it was not in the US, but I think you can buy the peri peri sauces there. It’s our favorite casual eating place, for sure!

    • Glad I’ve found another Nando’s lover! I’m so glad I tried one of the veggie options rather than just sticking to the tried-and-tested chicken.
      Oh, and you HAVE to try pimms. Get that British husband of yours to buy a bottle asap – you’ll love it!

  3. Maria says:

    Whoa, that pita is totally stuffed. Looks awesomely yummy! Love falafel, the dinner looks simple and gooood.

    My Saturday night’s going to be relaxing because I was out all day–I’m pooped ;). Hope you have lots of fun!

  4. What a cute dress! I’m wearing the jeans I bought at TopShop when I was in Bristol a few years ago right now….

Leave a Reply

