“Too healthy”?

I went to a barbecue last night for one of my friend’s 21st birthdays. It was great celebrating with him and catching up with friends I haven’t seen in a while, and I had a really fun night.

However, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit nervous beforehand about the food situation. Lately I’ve been eating less and less meat, and have seriously started considering vegetarianism (or at least pescetarianism). And obviously meat is a big part of a bbq!

I decided before I left the house that I wouldn’t eat any meat. I’m not a big fan of sausages or burgers anyway, and I didn’t want to have to eat them just because that’s what everyone else would be eating. So I had a bite to eat before I left the house (an apple, a pear, a couple of oatcakes and a handful of nuts – we didn’t leave the house til about half 8 so I was starving!) and when I got there I headed straight to the salad table, where I found enough to choose from.

I’d been worried that people would comment on my food choices, and a couple of people did ask “Aren’t you having any meat?” I think if I was an actually vegetarian it would be easy to provide a justified answer, but since everyone knows I’m not I didn’t really know what to say. I tried to explain I wasn’t in the mood to eat meat, but I still felt a bit awkward. And kind of rude too, like I should have been eating the food that was provided.

It’s not the first time this has happened, either. Whenever I’m with friends and order healthy dishes in restaurants, or ask for salads with the dressing on the side for example, I get comments about being “too healthy”. Surely there’s so such thing as being too healthy? I eat loads of food, I just prefer to eat good whole foods that make me feel good about myself. But some people don’t seem to get that.

Sorry for the rant, it would just be good to hear other people’s thoughts on this. Do people ever make comments on what you eat? Do you ever feel anxious when you’re in situations where you can’t control what you eat?

Yesterday’s lunch was the same as the day before – couscous with peppers and cucumber. I also consumed some dried fruit and some veggie sticks over the course of the day. My afternoon snack was another one of these Innocent Smoothies.

2006_0203food0004

2006_0203food0006

This was the first time I’ve ever had lime in a smoothie and I really liked it. It tasted a lot lighter and more refreshing than the ones with banana in, and I loved the green colour (I’ve totally been converted to green smoothies!)

On to today…I was really craving a banana smoothie for breakfast this morning, and luckily we had a few huge, ripe bananas just waiting to be used up. I put one banana in a blender with natural fat-free yoghurt and a tiny bit of semi-skimmed milk. The result? A delicious, creamy drink. This was so thick and tasted very similar to a banana milkshake. It was so good, I ended up making one for my mum as well!

2006_0206food0012

As good as the smoothie was though, I knew it wouldn’t hold me through the morning. It took me all of about two seconds to decide what to have as the second part of my breakfast – PB oatmeal! It was basically a recreation of Thursday’s oatmeal, minus the banana (I decided one banana for breakfast was probably enough). This was the star ingredient:

2006_0129food0006

This was in the package Megan sent me from America. How I’ve lived 22 years of my life without this stuff I don’t know. I only opened it a week ago and it’s already half gone – I really need to start rationing it! I added some hazelnuts, currents, almonds and pumpkin seeds into the cooked oats as well.

2006_0206food0018

I think it’s a good job I eat breakfast at work during the weeks, otherwise there’s a good chance I would eat this every single day.

I hope everyone has a nice weekend planned. I’m off to London today to look at possible locations for flats – so exciting! Then I’m out tonight for another friend’s birthday. I have a feeling numerous cocktails may be consumed…(I was the designated driver last night so I figure I’m allowed a few tonight!)

6 Responses to “Too healthy”?

  1. rediscoveringlauren says:

    Hi hun
    i hate when people comment about others being “too healthy”…its no ones business what others order and i dont see why others make it their mission to make others feel differnt for ordering something healthier…everyone has a right to choose to eat what they want to, and i think people who make those comments to healthier people are really just trying to make themselves feel better about ordering something less healthy….phew sorry i started ranting too haha!

    Breakfast looks delicous! good luck in london today, have fun girlie 🙂
    xxxx

  2. Madison says:

    I know how you feel about eating around other people in social situations and they look at you like you are a weirdo! That is what I feel like. Sometimes I want to get defensive and be like, “Well, you should try it!” But then again, we each live our life the way we want, so we are free to eat what we want! AND most of the times, I want to eat what is right and good for my body.

    Oh man, I wish I was going to London with you! I spent last summer there and love it so much. I hope to maybe be studying abroad again in grad school and HOPE and PRAY it is in London!

  3. Lori says:

    Yes, those comments happen all the time. My answer to “Are you not having any X?” is to say something along the lines of I really want to try some of this now and probably come back for something else later.
    It’s really not anyone’s business about how you eat.

    When other people comment about “you’re so good” or “is that all you are going to eat”, just say that’s how you eat now and that they can feel free to eat something *for* you if they want LOL!

  4. Pumpkin says:

    I always get dressing on the side with salads- I hate getting salads that are positively gooped with dressing! I like veggies, and want to taste them- the dressing should accent them.
    I also pass on cheese on sandwiches, salads, &c. Usually the cheese is so mild that you can’t even taste it, so why waste calories on it? If I eat cheese on a salad or sandwich, I like super sharp cheddar or bleu cheese, feta, goat, &c. They have a lot of flavor, so I can actually taste and enjoy the cheese.
    I think sometimes people accuse others of being “too healthy” when they feel guilty about eating junk.

  5. Leah says:

    Yea, I have gotten used to them! I think in the long run you have to remember that you are eating the way you eat for you- because it helps you feel your best & happiest. Soon enough the comments don’t matter so much 🙂

  6. homecookedem says:

    Do not ever let what people say about “being too healthy” get you down. I used to let it get me down and finally figured, well if I want to fit in and feel “normal” I might as well eat like them. And now I can’t fit in my pants. Just know that you are doing what’s best for you and what other people think does not matter.

Leave a Reply

