Green Monster Love

Last night was fun! I haven’t been out dancing for so long, so it was great to let my hair down and be silly with my friends. I went to high school with the guys and girls below, so I’ve known them for ages. We all went out separate ways for college, but have still managed to stay really close. It was great catching up!

2006_020822ndEmma0006

As you can see from the table, a fair few cocktails were consumed over the course of the evening. I was pretty good though – I had quite a bit to drink in the first bar we were at, and then I moved onto water once we were in the club (partly because I was already feeling quite tipsy, and partly because the drinks in there are so expensive). I also politely declined these…I just wasn’t feeling in a shot mood.

2006_020822ndEmma0008

When I was in college, I went out drinking at least three nights a week. And I used to drink A LOT the majority of the time. But nowadays I’m quite happy to just have a few drinks and leave it at that. I must be getting old!

Somehow I still managed to wake up with a bit of a headache this morning, so I decided a Green Monster would be the perfect pick-me-up.

Before…

2006_020822ndEmma0015

And after…

2006_020822ndEmma0018

In the Green Monster I put:

  • Spinach
  • Fat-free natural yoghurt
  • A banana
  • Frozen mango
  • A little bit of semi-skimmed milk

I don’t know why, but this tasted so much better than normal. I practically inhaled it, it was that good! I really need to make these a more regular thing, rather than only drinking them about once a week.

I was so tempted to have a bowl of PB oats as well, but I decided you guys probably wouldn’t want to see another picture of that! (See, this blog is definitely a good influence when it comes to varying my meals). Instead, I put together a big fruit salad featuring:

  • Apples
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Apricot
  • Raspberries

2006_020822ndEmma0020

2006_020822ndEmma0025

Have I mentioned I love fruit? 😉

I didn’t end up eating breakfast until 11, which is unheard of for me. I’m usually wide awake by about 7! It means lunch will probably be quite late and/or quite small, because my mum’s cooking a roast for dinner.

It’s now about 1pm, and I’m sitting here in my pyjamas watching TV and catching up on blog reading / writing. I’m planning on going for a run or a bike ride later, and might catch up with a few friends too. Apart from that there’s not much on the agenda. I love lazy Sundays!

Are you a big Green Monster fan? What’s your tried-and-tested favourite recipe?

16 Responses to Green Monster Love

  1. Leah says:

    Glad you had a fun night out!!
    I had a green monster for breakfast today too. It is the perfect pick-me-up espec’ after a night out!

    My current mixture is my fav:

    1 cup hazelnut almond milk
    2 handfuls spinach
    1 banana
    2 fresh mint leaves
    1 tbsp flax

    I find the hazelnut almond milk (made by rice dream) gives the smoothie a really nice flavour! You should try it!

  2. Glad you enjoyed your night out- catching up with old friends is always great!

    I have yet to jump on the green monster bandwagon…though I eat an obscene amount of spinach as it is so definitely getting my greens fix 😛

    Enjoy your Sunday roast!

  3. Kailey says:

    aww I am glad that you had fun with your high school friends!! I can’t imagine going separate ways with all my pals :\
    LOVE green monsters. they are just too good.

  4. lowandbhold says:

    I used to drink a lot more than I do now! I guess that it what happens as we get older. It’s good for our liver!!

    I use 1 cup unsweet vanilla almond milk, 1 tablespoon almond butter, 1 frozen banana and 2-3 handfuls of spinach. I vary it from time to time but always go back to the classic. I also usually add a 1/2 scoop of protein powder, since I don’t eat meat.

  5. Maria says:

    It’s so great that you stayed close with all your high school friends! That fruit salad is looking so lovely with all the various colors :). Haha, I’m usually up by 5am but slept in until 8am, feels so darn good.

    I am totally in love with green monsters—they are so yummy and I think my lacking energy levels are ok for once! I use:

    ½ serving of amazing meal/hemp protein
    1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
    ½-1 frozen banana (depends on how sweet I want it)
    tons of spinach

    Soooo yummy, I have them daily!

  6. Madison says:

    Green Monster OBSESSED FAN I AM! haha

    I usually put:
    1 to 1 1/2 cups almond milk
    3 big handfuls of spinach
    1 frozen banana
    1 scoop of Amazing Grass Green Superfood

    It is so good-have you tried any Amazing Grass products? They are a winner and a get energy boost. Try them!

  7. Susan says:

    I’m the same way, I drank my way through university, but am not really into it anymore! I still love a few sociable beverages here and there, but nowhere close to the number I used to put back 😛

    I can’t digest large amounts of raw veggies – especially spinach. So green monters are kind of a no-go for me 😦

  8. Judy says:

    Never heard of a green monster, but it looks very interesting. I never was much of a drinker, didn’t drink in college. I’ll occasionally have a half glass of wine with dinner, but that’s it. Alcohol is so loaded with sugar and absolutely no nutrients.

  9. Thanks for the comment 🙂

    I have never had a Green Monster… something about drinking spinach just doesn’t sit right with me for some reason! 😉

    ❤ ❤

  10. Suzanne says:

    Hi Sam, I make green monster every morning before work, and I love them! I get the Rice Dream almond milk from Sainsburys and Morrisons! (Its in the UHT milk aisle.)

    1 cup of Rice Dream almond milk
    2 handfuls of spinach
    1 banana
    I scoop of Amazing Grass chocolate Superfood powder

  11. Suzanne says:

    I bought the kids version as that is all they have in stock. But it contains all the same goodness as the other one and its cheaper!

    Here is the link, they deliver to the UK, hooray!
    http://www.justnutrition.co.uk/superfood-kidz.html

Leave a Reply

