Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot

The temperature reached 82 degrees here today…which is HOT for the UK! My office doesn’t have air-con, so it was like being in a sauna all day. Needless to say I got nice and sweaty, so as soon as half five hit, I was out the door. No overtime for me tonight!

The heat aside, today’s been a good day. I got up 10 minutes early to fit a quick bit of strength training in, a la Caitlin. I’m really new to strength training, but I know it’ll help to tone up my body, so I really want to start incorporating more of it into my workouts. Since I didn’t really know what I was doing, I kept things simple and did about two minutes each of:

  • sit-ups
  • push-ups
  • bicycle crunches
  • lunges
  • squats

They’re about all the strength moves I know to be honest! Does anyone have any good website recommendations for a beginner?

Breakfast and lunch today were both fairly uneventful. Muesli with strawberries and raspberries this morning, and a spinach and hummus sandwich for lunch.

Dinner was a prawn and vegetable stir-fry:

2006_0209food0025

Ingredients: broccoli, red pepper, green beans, spring onion, baby corn, asparagus and prawns. I love stir-fries, they’re a great excuse for eating lots of different vegetables all at once.

2006_0209food0026

For dessert I had some cranberry and almond muesli with some natural yoghurt. What can I say, I’m obsessed with cereal!

2006_0209food0027

Sorry for the short post, but I want to get out for a run while it’s still light. In the next few days I’ll be documenting my latest baking attempt (rocky road slices!) and giving you a sneak peak into my fridge.

Are you a fan of strength training? How often do you do it and what are your favourite moves?

11 Responses to Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot

  1. lowandbhold says:

    I hate strength training, but it is a necessary evil! If I do my hard yoga class I count it as a ST session because it’s really intense with lots of inversions and lunges. I try to to something ST-related twice a week. I should do more, but I just hate it! I either do a video at home or do the circuits at the gym. Nothing fancy. Do you have room to do DVDs at home? I think that’s a really easy way to learn..

    Have fun on your run!

  2. Isha says:

    I’m with you with the strength training. I know I should do it on a regular basis, but I get bored! Plus I only really know the basics, like you. I’m thinking I’ll try a group class at my gym – maybe that will be more motivating.

  3. Maria says:

    The stir fry looks so fresh and yummy. Definitely gets all of your daily veggies in :). Can’t wait to see the baked goods!

    I used to strength train 3-4xs a week, but cut it out due to a lack of time. Also, I’m a cardio girl–I would never cut it out, so I had to compensate and reduce the ST. I still do abs + yoga, see no negative effects. Actually, I’m more flexible with all that yoga, and maybe even more toned than before. Yoga incorporates lots of planks and push-up like exercises , so it’s similar to strength training.

  4. Menden says:

    Your stirfry looks delicious!

    For strength training moves/ideas, try going to Youtube and searching some videos – that way you can get an idea of how your form should look!

  5. Lori says:

    There is a great website http://trainwithmeonline.com You can get programs there for free for strength training, plus videos that show all the moves.

    I love strength training! If you want a little more HC – get New Rules of Lifting for Women. 😀

  6. Lori says:

    I strength train 3 days a week and it is my favorite thing to do along with biking!

    I would recommend trainwithmeonline.com to get videos and strength training workouts for any level.

  7. I keep hearing talk of this heat wave- it’s yet to reach Scotland!

    What kind of muesli do you buy? I’ve been eating one from Holland and Barrett for a while but looking to switch to something different…cranberry and almond sounds good!

  8. Danielle says:

    Strength training is awesome for your metabolism! It is a bit boring at first, so do it while you watch your favorite TV shows. I’m using the P90X DVDs right now, but before those I used free weights and bands along with 8 Minute Abs (youtube).

  9. I love strength training but that’s because I do it wimp style – in front of the tv with really light weights. mindless lifting. but better nothing, right?!?!

  10. Stir-frys are one of my favorite foods 🙂 Yours looks nice with all the different veggies.
    I am still working on making myself to strength training, especially push-ups and ab work! I hate abs but I love doing squats!
    I’m loving this heat, but I do wish the sun would join it!

Leave a Reply

