Transporting a Green Monster and a Package from the States

Glad you all enjoyed seeing the contents of my fridge. I’d like to say it’s that tidy all the time, but in all honestly I lined things up nicely for the photo! I’ll definitely do a store cupboard post at some point. It was really interesting hearing what foods you all buy regularly, too.

As I said earlier, I decided to bring a Green Monster into work for breakfast this morning. In this heat, I thought a nice cold breakfast would be perfect. So early this morning I blended together spinach, fat-free natural yoghurt, semi-skimmed milk, a banana and some frozen mango. Then I put it in this:

2006_0210food0006

You can’t tell from this picture, but the jug actually has a slit in the lid. Great for drinking out of, not so great for transporting it. I ended up holding the jug between my legs while driving up the motorway for an hour! Probably not easiest way of carrying it, but it worked. I got to work without so much as the tiniest spillage. What’s more, the drink stayed cold until I got hungry around 9am.

2006_0210food0007

I drunk it straight out of the jug, and it was deliciously refreshing and filling. I’m definitely going to start doing this more often. Maybe I’ll invest in a better jug though (this one was free at my graduation)!

I had an apple around 11am, and then a hummus and spinach sandwich (again) for lunch. One day I’ll post three completely never-seen-before meals, I promise!

My afternoon snack was this beauty:

2006_0210food0005

I love fruit salad at the best of times, but it’s especially good in such hot weather. In here I’ve got strawberries, red grapes and blueberries. I also drunk about a million glasses of water today – at least this heat wave is probably going to do wonders for my skin!

Dinner was fairly simple and quick – a salmon fishcake with advocado, broccoli and green beans. Looking at today’s food, I seem to have eaten less than usual. I never feel like eating much when it’s so hot, but I need to make an effort to ensure I get enough food. I did have a few handfuls of berries after dinner. I’m addicted!

2006_0210food0012

In other news…when I got home from work today, this was waiting for me:

2006_0210food0008

2006_0210food0009

My dad went to New York on business, so of course I had to put some food requests in! Kashi Go Lean is something I’ve seen on pretty much every food blog I read. I’ve been wanting to try some for months, so I’m ridiculously excited I’ve finally got my hands on some. It’s definitely going to feature for breakfast tomorrow!

My dad also picked up a couple of luna bars for me. I’ve never tried the s’mores flavour before, but I’ve heard good things. At times I wish I lived in the USA just for the food – I need a regular supply of Luna bars in my life!

Question of the day: Does the weather affect your appetite? I always find I eat way more in the winter.

12 Responses to Transporting a Green Monster and a Package from the States

  1. Oooh, love the US goodies! I just got a deliver of Go Lean Crunch myself 🙂 Love it!
    It’s funny, I think my appetitie is lessened in the summer, but it doesn’t necessarily help me manage my weight. I think it’s because I move slower in the heat, wheras in the winter my system is working harder to keep me warm!
    What brand of salmon fishcakes do you buy?

  2. The weather affects my mood, which directly affects my appetite (rain = sad and at home = snackface). But I live in LA, where the weather is basically sunny and warm all the time, so I have no real excuse….

  3. Christina says:

    Mm I love Kashi cereals.. I can’t believe they don’t have them all over by now!

    The weather doesn’t really affect my appetite but I definitely eat healthier in the summer with all the berries in season 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    Nope, I’m always hungry no matter what happens ;). Although it sometimes does affect my mood–sun makes me happy :). Rain usual doesn’t affect my mood too much though, since it is a frequent visitor (hey, I live in Seattle).

    Glad to hear that green monster was still delish! Mine didn’t transport too well, but maybe because I waited longer to drink it, or just bad luck?

  5. rediscoveringlauren says:

    hi hun
    i love fishcakes 🙂 i always have them with veggies for dinner! and that fesh fruit looks delicous!
    i wish we got more bars over here too! i love lunas and cliffs and im bummed ive gotta rely on bar swaps to get them!
    i tend to eat almost the same all year around but i eat lighter dinners during summer for sure and more fruit in the summer too!
    have a great night hun
    xxxx

  6. Am I spoiled to have “US goodies” at my disposal!? 😉

    Hmmm… I don’t know whether I can exactly attribute my appetite / lack of appetite to the weather per se, as somehow I can manage to construe every and any type of weather into a reason why I am not in the mood to eat! :p

    I love the summer fruit photos… they’re just so much more colorful and cheerful than what’s available in winter, aren’t they?!

    ❤ ❤

  7. Susan says:

    That’s my favourite Luna flavour, good choice 🙂

    I tend to eat a little less in the heat too. I especially like a lighter supper when it’s really hot out, preferably made in the microwave and not oven 😉

  8. jocelynsteiber says:

    Hey! I have to be at work at 7 am and I leave my apt around 6:30 so I need quick and easily transportable breakfast! I’m going to try make a green monster and put it in a coffee mug tomorrow! Great idea! Also, I just started a nutrition/wellness blog. Check it out! : )

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  9. Love the US stuff 🙂 I got some Luna bars in the mail today! Do you drive to work? Might be worth investing in a cup holder!

    My appetite is definitely less when it’s hot- though in Scotland that’s not much of a problem 😛

    • Yeah I drive. Definitely need to get a cup holder – holding it between my legs wasn’t the most practical idea! Where did you get your luna bars from? I’m obsessed with them at the moment. Have no fear, the heat wave has to reach Scotland sooner or later!

  10. Kailey says:

    i love those lunas!! they are perfect right before a workout!

Leave a Reply

