Tennis, tuna and my first Kashi experience

 

Have any of you guys been following Wimbledon? I just watched the quarter final match between Andy Roddick and Lleyton hewitt – it was such an exciting and tense match! It’s weird, tennis is one of those games I hardly every play yet I love to watch. Especially when Wimbledon is on – the whole country goes crazy for it! Good weather plus good tennis makes me a very happy blogger indeed.

Annoyingly, I forget to take my camera to work today. But luckily I’d snapped most of the days eats before I left the house. Breakfast was (of course) a bowl of Kashi Go Lean. The picture below shows the cereal as I took it to work – now imagine it with skimmed milk and chopped apricots and you’ll have some idea as to what the final meal looked like!

2006_0211food0001

2006_0211food0007

I had the apple as a mid-morning snack, along with some rice crackers and a cappachino. My thoughts on my first Kashi experience? I loved the cereal, but I didn’t find it very filling at all – my stomach was rumbling about two hours after I ate. I had about a cup full – how much do you all usually have? Next time I have this I’ll probably add yoghurt and some nuts to bulk it out a bit. And have a bigger bowl!

Luckily lunch was quite early as I had a meeting at one. Seriously, who schedules two-and-a-half-hour meetings for lunchtime?!

I made this wrap before I left the house this morning. In it I put hummus, spinach, tomatoes, cucumber and yellow pepper.

2006_0211food0005

All wrapped up and ready to take to work…

2006_0211food0006

I always find it so hard to get wraps to stay together – it took me about three attempts to wrap this up!

I treated myself to a cookie during the meeting (not the healthiest choice I know, but it was free and I was hungry!) After it was finished I was still starving. Fortunately I had this lovely fruit salad waiting for me in the fridge. I can’t get enough of fruit salad at the moment, so expect to see another one tomorrow! This time I had strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and grapes. It was divine!

2006_0211food0004

Tuna steak was on the menu for dinner tonight. I was going to just have it grilled, but then decided to make some salsa to jazz it up a bit. So I chopped up some red onion, cherry tomatoes and yellow pepper and stir-fried them in a bit of olive oil.

2006_0211food0009

The finished product…

2006_0211food0012

The tuna was grilled on the George Foreman (I don’t know what I’d do without one of those things!) and I steamed some broccoli to add some greenery to the place. You can’t really see the tuna under all that salsa, but I assure you it’s there!

It’s about 8.30pm here at the moment and I’m debating whether or not to go for a run. I’m tempted to just have a lazy night in to be honest – I feel so drained of energy in this heat. Apparently June was the hottest month we’ve had in this country for three years.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining – I’m just not used to it!

Question of the day: What’s your favourite sport to watch? I love tennis and football (soccer).

14 Responses to Tennis, tuna and my first Kashi experience

  1. lowandbhold says:

    The only sport I ever really watch on TV is American Football. But I like to go to any sporting event live, it’s fun to be that close to the action!

    Tuna steak was one of my favorite things to eat before I gave up meat! Sounds delicious!

  2. Maria says:

    I’m a baseball gal, and when the Olympics are up, I get sooo addicted. Yeah, I don’t play baseball so much either ;).

    I’d say a cup is usually a good serving of cereal, but i you’re hungry, add that extra half cup in!

    I have the hardest time with wraps too–maybe because I stuff it with so many goodies, haha. Mmmm, the tuna sounds really good with that salsa!

  3. I like basketball. Fast-paced and indoors.

  4. Madison says:

    Hmm, I would have to say I am not a huge sport fan. BUT in the Olympics, I love to watch gymnastics (YES it’s a sport!) and track and field.

  5. Lori says:

    I never eat cereal by itself for a meal as it doesn’t keep me full. My favorite way to eat the Kashi is:

    5 oz container of greek yogurt (plain), 1/2 cup Kashi, 1 cup chopped strawberries, 1 or 2 tsp of honey all mixed together. Yum!

  6. Lori says:

    Oh, and I forgot – American Football all the way!!!!

  7. Natalie says:

    My favorite sport to watch is college football. Go Gators!!

    When I have kashi go lean, I usually mix 1/2 cup with yogurt. Much more filling that way 🙂

  8. burpexcuzme says:

    I love to watch figure skating, soccer, gymnastics. Does that count?
    I don’t find cereal filling at all…but yeah, add some protein to that and it’ll be much more substantial…and fat like nuts. 🙂

  9. Christina says:

    I usually have a cup of cereal too but add in tons of other stuff like peanut butter, fruit, yogurt, and flax.

    My favorite sport to watch is baseball. It gets really intense sometimes!

  10. emily says:

    My favorite (only) sport to watch is gymnastics! Growing up on an island I didn’t really get exposed to the whole team loyalty thing.

  11. Tennis! I love playing tennis (not competitive though) but love it more when I’m watching. I’m sooo excited for Roger Federer’s 15th Grand Slam. Weee! 😀 Do you have a fave player?

    • I love Federer, I think he’s just the sweetest guy ever. And such a good player too! But seeing as I’m British, it’s Andy Murray all the way for me this year! A Murray-Federer final would be fantastic.

  12. I definitely bulk up kashi with yogurt (Fage is my favorite with it–they just pair well together!), fruit, and usually a nut or nut butter. That should help with the satiety!
    Not a sports girl, but I like having American football on in the background because it reminds me of when I was little 🙂

  13. Hockey! Oh yeah! I loveee tuna steaks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

