Spaghetti & non-meat balls, and a blogging hiatus

Three simple steps to Green Monster perfection:

1. Put a banana, mango, spinach, natural yoghurt and milk into a blender.

2006_0212food0023 

2. Blitz.

2006_0212food0024

3. Transfer into cup of your choice, and enjoy.

2006_0210food0003

Breakfast perfection!

I seriously can’t get enough of Green Monsters in this weather. I’m thinking of buying some kale next time I’m in the store and trying that instead of spinach. I’d love to see my parents’ reaction to that – they find spinach smoothies disgusting enough!

Mid-morning snacks included an apple and a handful of nuts and dried fruit. Lunch was another hummus and salad wrap, and mid-afternoon snack was a couple of apricots. I was wondering earlier, would you guys rather see pictures of all my meals, or just the interesting ones? If I post a picture of a sandwich or a wrap every day I have a feeling you’re going to get very bored! But here’s today’s (pre-wrapping) anyway…

2006_0212food0021

Dinner was interesting enough to warrent some pictures! Since it’s the end of the week, it was the case of scrounging around the fridge to see what needed using up. I had pepper, onion, broccoli and falafel, so I decided to mix it the pasta to make spaghetti and meat falafel balls.

I stir-fried the onion, pepper and broccoli in some olive oil. While that was browning, I cooked up some pasta (I didn’t have much left, so I resorted to breaking up some spinach lasagna sheets to bulk it up a bit!) and the falafel.

Once the pasta was done, I added it to the veg and poured in a carton of chopped tomatoes:

2006_0212food0029

Then I topped with the falafel balls and some cottage cheese:

2006_0212food0032

I was pretty impressive, even if I do say so myself. This is the most creative meal I’ve made for ages. The falafels obviously didn’t taste much like meatballs, but they look the part!

*********

In other news… I’m afraid I’m going to be taking a bit of a hiatus in the next few weeks. Don’t worry, I’m not bored of blogging already! I’ve just got a few vacations coming up. Tomorrow evening I’m heading down to Devon with my parents and sister to stay with my aunt and cousin for the weekend. They live in a small beachside village, which is one of my favourite places in the whole wide world.

2008_0904Majorca0164

2008_0904Majorca0152

I’m not taking my laptop, so won’t be posting on Saturday or Sunday. But…I’ve got a great baking post planned for tomorrow before I leave (any rocky road fans out there?) And I’ll be back on Monday to fill you in on the weekend’s fun, games and food. I have a feeling there’ll be lots of treats consumed!

Next Thursday I’m off to Thailand for two weeks to visit one of my best friends from college. She’s travelling round the world, and I haven’t seen her for months. I miss her! We’re going to be island-hopping and staying in hostels, so taking the laptop isn’t really practical. I’m hoping to get some guest posts lined up though, and will be doing a fantastic giveaway when I get back. So please don’t desert me while I’m away!

Do you guys all blog on vacation? Or do you prefer to have a complete break and time away from the computer?

PS – thank you for all the lovely and supportive messages on my post this morning. The blogging community is so fantastic, I’m so proud to be a part of it. Positive thinking isn’t always easy (trust me, I know) but it makes such a difference.

8 Responses to Spaghetti & non-meat balls, and a blogging hiatus

  1. Whit says:

    I love the beach pictures! Sounds lovely!

  2. I LOVE felafel! I never would have thought of putting it with pasta…ah, genuis idea. I don’t post all my meals because they are repetitive, but some people do and I don’t get bored reading about them *shrugs* what do YOU want to do? It’s your blog 😉

    The beach pictures are gorgeous! Have a great time! I haven’t been on ‘vacation’ for years because my trips tend to be long-term/combined with work so I’ve blogged, but haven’t been away since I started blogging daily…I think a weekend trip should be a break from everything and just enjoying what you have for those couple of days- it’s easy to log onto the computer and lose several hours!

    I LOVE rocky road!!!!!

  3. lowandbhold says:

    I’m not a fan of kale in my monsters – they get really gritty, but a lot of people LOVE them.

    I usually only do the interesting food pics, but it kind of depends on my mood. I wouldn’t say anything you post would be boring though by any means!

    Have fun on your trips! Thailand?!?! So jealous!

    I don’t blog on vacation because I’m paranoid about breaking/losing my computer lol.

  4. Have fun! I was in Thailand over X-mas and it’s beautiful (and some mighty tasty foods too)! Let us know if you need help with a guest post!

  5. Awww, weekend at the beach sounds lovely. Will you be watching Wimbledon while on vacation? Can’t wait for your rocky road post! 😛

  6. Christina says:

    I just made a falafel concoction for dinner last night too! My boyfriend’s Mom bought the falafel for me thinking they were vegetarian meatballs lol – they do look just like them!

    Have a great time vacationing! And I’m a huge rocky road fan, can’t wait to see what you have planned for tomorrow 🙂

  7. Lori says:

    Have fun! I blog on vacation sort of. I line up posts that are delayed to post while I am away (wordpress is great that way). I don’t always have the computer available to actually blog while I am gone.

  8. Wow, Devon and Thailand…lots of fun stuff coming up! We might visit Devon later this summer so I might be emailing you with questions 😉 Hope you have a fantastic time!

Leave a Reply

