Rocky Road Gorgeousness

Disclaimer: absolutely NOTHING about the below is healthy in any way, shape or form. Boy does it taste good though!

Disclaimer #2: if you’re some sort of baking conasuir, it’s probably going to seem really lame and unimpressive!

We’re having a charity bake sale at work today, so last night I took over the kitchen and got baking! Well, I say baking…does Rocky Road count as baking? Probably not. But I wanted something that would be difficult to mess up!

I followed this recipe, but I used rich tea biscuits instead of crushed peanuts. And most of the chocolate I used was the fruit and nut variety instead of plain…I thought it would jazz the recipe up a bit.

The ingredients:

2006_0212food0033

Step One: break up the chocolate and heat it over a saucepan of boiling water…

2006_0212food0034

…until it looks like this:

2006_0212food0035

Step two: pour half of the melted chocolate into a baking tin and scatter cherries, marshmellows and biscuits on top:

2006_0212food0036

Step three: pour the rest of the chocolate on top, and stick the whole thing in the fridge for a few hours:

2006_0212food0037

Step four: cut into pieces, stand back and admire!

2006_0212food0039

 

2006_0212food0042

 

2006_0212food0043

I may or may not have eaten two of these myself (in my defence, one was broken so I couldn’t sell it anyway!) They’re so good. Rocky Road isn’t as popular over here as it is in the US, so this is only about the third time I’ve ever tried it. I’ll definitely be making it again – this is the level of baking I can cope with! I also might have snacked on some marshmellows and biscuits while the chocolate was melting…oops.

The bake sale is at 10am today…I hope these get snapped up! There are going to be dozens of different cakes on sale so I’ll have to choose my favourites carefully rather than having one of everything. Rumour has it there’s going to be a cappuchino cake – if that’s the case, the others don’t really stand a chance!

Hope everyone has a lovely weekend and that all the Americans out there have a fantastic July 4th. I’ve got a full day of work ahead of me, but then I’m off to Devon for a couple of days by the beach. ‘See’ you all on Monday!

What’s your favourite cake? What do you tend to make for bake sales?

15 Responses to Rocky Road Gorgeousness

  1. Ahhh, those Rocky Road look amazing! I’d buy some if I were going to your bake sale.
    In my family, I’m the least talented baker but I love cake: banana cake, carrot cake, cheesecake, chocolate cake, everything cake really. 😛

  2. that looks INCREDIBLE! I think I might need to pick up some rocky road today…or just head down south and hit up your bake sale 😛 My favourite dessert is banoffee pie! Bake sales- I love tray bakes/rocky road type things and flapjacks 🙂

  3. rediscoveringlauren says:

    ohmygosh that looks AMAZING :)!! i love cadburys choc! its the best!
    my fav desserts are banana bread and carrot cake!
    have a nice night hun
    xxxx

  4. MizFit says:

    I am the MIA of my family 🙂
    I always go boring old school—nestles tollhouse.

  5. They look AMAZING to me! All that Cadbury’s chocolate…how could you go wrong?! I’ve never had homemade rocky road but I really feel inspired to make it now. Where did you find the marshmellows?!

  6. jocelynsteiber says:

    I love Cadbury chocolate! Your bars look delicious.
    I’m a cheese cake girl : )

    Good luck at the bake sale!

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  7. Maria says:

    I’ve actually never had a rocky road before. The ones you made look really great! My favorite cake is anything with coconut! Love a simple cake with jam too. I haven’t baked for a bake sale, but i would probably make bars of some sort or cookies.

    Hope you have a fabulous time in Devon!

  8. salivating…

    i haven’t had to cook for a bake sale in forever but when i used to it was always just a cookie dough log…i’m not much of a baker…

  9. burpexcuzme says:

    For bake sales, I like to make bars because they are easy to just whip into the pan and cut up, and they always look impressive…just like you rocky road bars! Easy to make, but SO appealing!

  10. Christina says:

    Yum, it looks delicious! My favorite cake is probably carrot with walnuts and raisins. Mmmm..

  11. Kailey says:

    holy moly – this looks DIVINE!!
    i love cheesecake 🙂 haha

  12. emily says:

    Happy 4th of July!

  13. psychoj1 says:

    OMG that looks freaking delicious! Out of this world yummy.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  14. Meredith says:

    That looks so good! I love coconut cake. My mom has an excellent blackberry wine cake. Bake sales are the best!

  15. Leah says:

    Those look so good!! Easy to make as well. And easy to eat hehe!

Leave a Reply

