I want to move to Devon and become a full-time berry-picker

Sorry I was missing yesterday – it was such a hectic day at work, and I’m so busy trying to sort everything out for my vacation. I can’t believe I’m jetting off to Bangkok in two days time!! But more about that later. In the meantime, I know what you’ve all been waiting for me to talk about – potato digging!

My aunt and cousin live in an amazing old farmhouse by the beach. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and the kind of place I’d love to live in (when I’m a bit richer!):

2006_0215budleigh0063

They’ve got a massive garden, complete with a greenhouse, berry bushes and potato patches. It’s weird, my aunt assures me they’ve been growing their own vegetables for years, but I’ve never realised. Or maybe I was just never interested before? This time, when she told me about all the home-grown produce (some of which we’d be having for dinner) I was ridiculously, giddily excited and insisted I be part of the process!

Enter potato digging:

2006_0215budleigh0047

This was a good workout, let me tell you! The potatoes are quite far under the soil, so I had to dig around for a while to find them.

2006_0215budleigh0049

Once we had enough potatoes, I passed them onto my aunt for cooking and made me way to their berry bushes. Now you may have noticed I’m slightly obsessed with berries, so I was in complete heaven. They had blackberries and tayberries (which apparently is a cross between a raspberry and a blackberry). I had great fun picking as many ripe ones as I could find…and sampling them as I went!

2006_0215budleigh0053

2006_0215budleigh0059

I had A LOT of these over the course of the weekend – they were great with my cereal on Sunday morning. And I made sure I picked some more just before we left to go home, so I have some sitting in my fridge at the moment. Any bets as to how long they’ll last?!

When my aunt saw how excited I was about all the fruit and veg, she suggested to go to a local ‘pick your own’ farm on Sunday morning. Guess what my reaction was?!

My sister, my cousin and I had great fun picking everything on offer.

There were broad beans

2006_0215budleigh0088

 Rhubarb

2006_0215budleigh0089

 And raspberries.

2006_0215budleigh0095

 All together…

2006_0215budleigh0096

We took all this home with us. With both me and my sister at home at the moment, the raspberry stash has become severly depleted in just a day! We’ve still got all the rhubard and broad beans though, any ideas as to what to do with either?

I can’t believe I’ve missed out on all this for so many years. Over the weekend, we also sampled home-grown cucumber, tomatoes and lettuce from my aunt’s garden. I don’t know if it’s just because I knew it was out of their garden, but all the food tasted so much better than shop-bought stuff. As soon as I have my own garden I’m starting a vegetable patch! (Is it slightly sad that I’m 22 years old and I’m this obsessed with fruit and vegetables? Still, I know you guys will understand!)

***********

In other news…Like I said, I’m off to Thailand in a couple of days, and I still have a million and one things to do. Including having my hair done, shopping, packing, getting money and finding somewhere to stay – quite an important thing don’t you think?! I also want to spend some time with my sister, because she’s off to Africa the day I get back to Thailand. She’s there for 10 weeks, so I basically won’t see her all summer.

I’ll still be blogging  over the next few days though, so don’t go anywhere!

Have you ever picked your own fruit or veg? If you have a garden, do you grow any of your own produce? Or do you just go to Farmers’ Markets a lot?

16 Responses to I want to move to Devon and become a full-time berry-picker

  1. i wish i could garden…i have a black thumb. have fun in thailand – so jealous…remember not to mention the “king and i” no matter what! it’s tempting b/c once i found this little factoid out all i heard in my head was songs from the musical….

  2. Wow…if that doesn’t make someone fresh fruit and vegetables, I don’t know what will! I bet it was a great workout, and what a fun activity. Your aunt’s house is awesome!

  3. Ruby says:

    Oh I am totally the same wit fruit & veg! Whenever we were over at my Gran’s or somewhere in England we’d always pick-our-own. Sadly it is not a tradition in Holland, so we don’t do it over here. However my mum has an allotment since this year and she’s got some fresh produce too. Home grown stuff does taste better: no pesticides, the varieties are generally cultivated for taste and not for disease-proofness or pretty-ness and I think the loving that goes in really shines through. Wow, Thailand sounds so exciting!

  4. rediscoveringlauren says:

    wow, all of that fresh fruit and veggies looks so good 🙂 i would love to have a garden like that with lots of fresh produce!
    wow, bankok? thats awesome!
    xxxxx

  5. Christina says:

    haha I love that you did you potato digging in a dress! My boyfriend has a raspberry bush next to his driveway so every time I get there I pick all the ripe ones before going inside 🙂

    I have a little garden right now and I’m growing, eggplant, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, and broccoli. I agree that food from a garden always seems to taste better than store bought!

  6. Lori says:

    I do mostly flower gardening, which I love – but I do grow pots of herbs. In fact, I just made pesto with some basil picked from the back porch! It somehow just tastes better.

    We don’t have the space for veggie gardening, I really wish we did because I would love to grow a bunch of stuff.

  7. I used to go to berry picking farms- so much fun! Rhubarb- you could make stewed rhubarb (good with ice cream/custard and freezes well) rhubarb, ginger and vanilla jam, rhubarb pie/crumble… Broad beans- soup, quiche, sandwich filling/pate 🙂

    Thailand sounds GREAT 😀

  8. Meg says:

    Thanks for the comment on my bars! I love this post and all the fresh produce.

    Have a safe trip!

  9. Meganerd says:

    wow that looks like so much fun! I have NEVER been berry picking or anything like that. I usually just buy stuff at the farmers’ market/ grocery store.

  10. psychoj1 says:

    I totally understand your excitement over fruits and veggies. That sounds like SO much fun. YUM YUM!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  11. lowandbhold says:

    When I was little we had a garden and I was sooo obsessed with it. I’d go pick it in the morning before school and again in the evening. My parents hardly had to do anything! I miss it so much!

    We never had fruit though, I would love to pick fresh berries like that! If they were in my fridge, they’d be gone by now!!

    Good luck with your trip preparation! Have I mentioned how completely jealous I am?

  12. Maria says:

    Haha, that’s what we bloggers are here for, to understand your obsession with fruits and veggies ;). I am totally obsessed too!

    We have a small garden where we get lettuce, herbs, and zucchini. It’s just so fresh and convenient!

    I hear that Thailand is such a great place to travel. I’m super jealous that you get to go!

  13. Becci says:

    What great looking produce! I would love to have a garden, but I just don’t have the time and/or talent for it!

  14. biz319 says:

    Wow, such exciting things happening to you!

    Never heard of broad beans before – they are huge!

    My hubby and I attempted a garden, but the deer and bunny rabbits got the best of it.

    This year I joined a CSA (Consumer Supported Agriculture) where I basically buy a part of their produce. My first pick up is on Saturday and I have no idea what I’ll get considering its just the middle of July in the midwest.

    My daughter and I go apple picking every year – its our tradition and now she’s 17!

    Good luck getting everything together – pretty sure the accommodations should be #1!

  15. OMG, those are gorgeous produce! It’s also my first time to hear of tayberries.

    We have a farm in the Philippines (mangoes, papaya, pepper, beans, etc.) and I remember picking watermelons as a kid. I buy my fruits and veggies here in Japan.

  16. I could not be more excited you visited my blog, because opening your page you are going to Thailand – I just got back from teaching English abroad there a bit ago! You are going to have so much fun! If you need any advice, you just ask – I would love to help you out! Where are you all going?

    getting excited about fruits and veggies is ALWAYS cool! have so much fun on your trip – your new haircut is adorable too!

Leave a Reply

