New hair and a tortilla pizza

Well I still haven’t started packing or booked anywhere to stay, but I did manage to tick one thing off my holiday to-do list this evening – getting my hair done.

I went from this…

2006_0131windsor0044

To this…

2006_0217budleigh0025

It’s so short! To be honest, I’m not sure if I like it. I asked for quite a bit off, but I didn’t think she’d snip quite so much! What do you all think? It’s definitely going to take some getting used to! I do prefer my hair short in the summer though, especially on vacation.

Because of the hair dressing appointment, I needed something quick for dinner, so I decided on a tried-and-tested favourite – tortilla pizza. I spread some tomato puree over a wholewheat tortilla, and topped it with asparagus, cherry tomatoes, zucchini, carrot and low-fat mozzarella. Then I put the whole thing in the oven for about ten minutes:

 2006_0217budleigh0013

2006_0217budleigh0021

I put some peach salsa on top before I ate it. The sweet and savory combination was great!

 2006_0217budleigh0020

All in all a quick and tasty dinner. I’ll definitely put more cheese on next time though, it seemed to shrink in the oven!

Breakfast today was another muesli creation, which featured some of the raspberries I picked up at the weekend. Lunch consisted of farm shop items too – lovely wholemeal bread with lime and corriander hummus, spinach and tomatos.

2006_0217budleigh0008

2006_0217budleigh0010

I haven’t put tomatoes in a sandwich for a while, and I have no idea why – they went perfectly with the spinach and the hummus.

What’s your favourite quick dinner? Do you tend to spend much time in the kitchen or do you prefer speedy meals?

26 Responses to New hair and a tortilla pizza

  1. Maria says:

    I think your hair looks great! I especially love the bangs and highlights 😀

    Mmmm that pizza sounds and looks very tasty. I have to try it out sometime. I prefer speedy meals because I tend to be lacking in the time department, but I do like slow cooking when I’m not as busy. I tend to make omelette, salads, wraps, or eat leftovers when I’m in a rush.

  2. Kailey says:

    wow I love your new haircut! you look so pretty 😀

  3. Isha says:

    Ahh, I love your hair! It looks fantastic.

  4. Lori says:

    I think your haircut suits you wonderfully!

    I like to have precooked chicken on hand for quick dinners. You can add it to stir fry, make a quick chicken salad, make a sandwich, etc for those busy nights. I have a few set meals that are my go-to meals on busy days that take 10-15 minutes to throw together.

  5. strivingforbalance says:

    your hair looks so good!!! Spicy Peach Chutney sounds awesome!!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  6. Love the hair especially the bangs. 🙂

    Since I do my running after dinner, I prefer something quick and light. It’s usually some kind of sandwich and a fruit.

  7. psychoj1 says:

    I love taking my time for dinner, but sometimes I am in rush! I love your hair!!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  8. Madison says:

    I think your hair looks fabulous! It really frames your face well. You look radiantly beautiful!

  9. Brandi says:

    i love the new haircut! It is really, really cute!

    i don’t mind spending time in the kitchen if I HAVE the time and am in the mood to cook, but sometimes I like quick meals that don’t require much work 🙂

  10. April (Foods of April) says:

    I think your hair looks adorable!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  11. Christina says:

    I think your hair looks great!

    I tend to spend hours in the kitchen usually (time permitting) but my favorite quick meal is the tortilla pizza too! Or salads are always easy to throw together.

  12. Emily says:

    Cute hair! It looks a little like the Elliot Reid from Scrubs, which I’ve been obsessing over for years 🙂

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  13. Valerie says:

    Love the new hairstyle! It’ll be great for summer too!

    I usually enjoy cooking, even though I’ve been feeling a little blah about it – probably the combo of working and doing a summer class. When I’m feeling lazy, I just pick something with minimal prep/supervision rather than something quick.

  14. randomlymikey says:

    i agree, your hair is super cute. you are so pretty you could pull off anything 🙂 i love short hair in the summer too. now i’m trying to grow it out and the heat is tempting me. lol. i enjoy both quick and elaborate meals. for quickness i keep a lot of tuna, hard boiled eggs, and salad stuff available.

  15. Love the hair! It will be much more comfortable in Thai heat!

    Pizza looks delicious 🙂 I am definitly ALL about ‘quick’ meals…stir-fry, tortellini, sandwiches. Winter I have more patience to stand over thestove, but I get lazy in summer heat 😛

  16. Leah says:

    I think your hair looks great!! I want to cut my hair after the wedding. It’s so chic!!

  17. rediscoveringlauren says:

    Hi girlie,
    i LOVE the new haircut! it looks great, you look absolutely beautiful!
    that sandwhich looks delicious…im a huge sandwhich fan!
    have a nice afternoon hun
    xxx

  18. Abby says:

    I love the hair! I always want bangs like that, but I have a stupid cowlick that prevents the cool sweep-actions.

    Anyway, quick dinners are a must from me. My fridge always has cooked rice, tofu, veggies, etc. ready to just throw in a pan when I get home (I also have a big snack at night, so dinner doesn’t have to be the biggest feast ever. Just quick, healthy and filling.)

  19. Your hair looks FANTASTIC! Tres chic!

    I use those Discovery tortillas too 🙂 I had no idea that peach chutney was the same as salsa!! I’ve never tried chutney before becuase for some reason I thought it had something to do with pickles! Weird, eh? Anyway, thanks for clearing that up!

  20. leslie says:

    gorgeous haircut! i chopped my long hair off a couple years ago and will never go back!

    favorite quick dinner: beans, rice, whatever vegetables are in my fridge, and some olive oil, all tossed together. i love to cook though, so i don’t mind doing elaborate things when i have the time!

  21. jocelynsteiber says:

    Hey there! You look adorable! I love the short hair on you. I need to cut my hair but I’m always scared to get it cut short! (You are very brave and you look fabulous) I’ve been trying to grow my hair out long for about 5 years now and it’s still just below my shoulders.

  22. Becci says:

    I LOVE your hair! It is so cute on you!!!

  23. Erin says:

    Hon, your new haircut is slammin! It’s tres chic and very mod. Def keep it! Of course I’m a short hair gal myself, so I’m WAY biased.

  24. I love the haircut – you have good hair!! Your little wholewheat bread sandwich looks YUM! My favorite quick dinner is Easy Red Curry (5 oz. chicken; 1/2 cup rice; red pepper flakes; 2 tbsp Trader Joe’s red cury sauce) – I spend a lot of time in the kitchen – I love cooking over quick meals (don’t know why – need to get some more quick meals in my meal plan!)

  25. dailygoods says:

    i loveee the new cut!

  26. Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Totally digging your new haircut! Going shorter always takes a little time to adjust to, but I think it looks super summery and carefree 🙂
    I don’t put tomatoes in my sammies usually, because they squirt out juice when I bite into them! haha

Leave a Reply

