A Pasta Phase

Thanks for all the lovely comments about the new hair, they all mean so much to me! I’m still getting used to it, but it’s slowly growing on me (no pun intended!)…I think. I just had a shower and it felt so weird having about half the amount of hair to wash as usual. Still, at least it’ll save me a bit of money on shampoo and conditioner!

Today has been a bit manic…I’ve been so busy at work trying to sort things out before I jet off. And then this evening I (finally) started the huge task of attempting to pack. I must be the world’s worst packer – I just put it off until the very last minute.

My room currently looks like a bomb’s hit it, but at least my suitcase is slowly getting full. Tell me girls, is six bikinis too many for a two-week holiday?!

2006_0218food0021

Trust me, they’re hidden in there somewhere! Talking of bikinis, has everyone read Meghann’s awesome post on Bikini Confidence? I’m the first to admit that the thought of donning a bikini doesn’t fill me with joy, but I’m determined not to constantly worry about how I look this vacation. I want to have fun and be confident on the beach, not stressing about how big my ass looks. Who’s with me?!

And while I’m doing shout-outs, I want to say a huge thanks to Holly for all her great tips and recommendations for Thailand. I’m so excited now!

Tomorrow I’m in the office all day, and then I’m leaving for Heathrow Airport about 7pm. My flight’s at 10 and takes about 14 hours – I hope there’s some good movies on!

Before I go and do some more packing, I want to tell you all about the fab dinner I had tonight. It featured a medley of crayfish, prawns and mussels:

2006_0218food0001

First I fried a bit of garlic and onion in some olive oil, before adding white wine, chilli paste and tomato puree to form a light sauce.

While that was simmering,ย I cooked up some wholewheat pasta. When the pasta was done, I added it to the sauce, and chucked in the seafood and some spinach.ย  I mixed the whole thing together until everything was covered in a delicious tomato-chilli sauce.

It looks like there’s loads here, but it was for my mum, dad and sister too.

2006_0218food0018

ย My portion, with some steamed broccoli on top:

2006_0218food0019

This is seriously the best meal I’ve had in so long! The sauce was amazing, and the seafood really made the dish special as we hardly ever buy it. I’m usually not a massive pasta fan, but I’m really going through a big phase of it as the moment. I’m getting hungry again just writing this up!

Are you a big pasta eater? What’s your favourite pasta dish? I love lasagne and ravioli.

16 Responses to A Pasta Phase

  1. Have a wonderful time! We really loved Bangkok even though we were only there for 2 days. Are you flying Thai Air? They’re “smooth as silk….”

  2. Kailey says:

    I am a HUGE pasta eater. Mainly because I am Italian haha so If I shun pasta I am basically shunned from the family.

  3. Madison says:

    I do like pasta–my favorite noodles are linquini and penne. I love linguini with red hot clam sauce! YUM!

  4. I love pasta! We always cook spaghetti at home. In restaurants, I’d order spinach cannelloni or pesto. Yum!

  5. Have fun! My dad lives over there but i’ve yet to go visit and NO – 6 swimsuits is not too many! ๐Ÿ™‚ And no stressing about the size of your ass! That pasta looks SO yum! I’ve been on an Italian kick (i.e. pasta for me!) lately and i’m loving pesto with mushrooms and chicken – yum!

  6. Christina says:

    I love pasta! My favorite dishes are veggie lasagna and baked ziti. I can never get enough!

  7. Emily says:

    I love pasta, my favorite thing on Earth is broad rice noodles (in Pad See Eiw and Drunken Noodles)!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  8. so exciting! bikins sounds good for 2 weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

    LOVE pasta. I think my all-time favourite is pumpkin ravioli ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Ashley says:

    I just had a read of your last post and I love the short hair! You are such a cutie! I think all hair looks good on you ๐Ÿ™‚ But short is very trendy, plus it will be great in the hot weather in Thailand! That’s so exciting you’re going so soon!! I’m heaving to Poland on Wednesday and am NOT looking to packing, OR having to wear a bikini… so am definately having a look at the bikini confidence link!

    Lasagne is my absolute favourite pasta but your dinner is a close second I think..! It looks delish.

  10. rediscoveringlauren says:

    hi hun
    dinner looks SO good! glad you enjoyed it ๐Ÿ™‚
    and hell yeah for enjoing the beach and not worrying about what you look like…focus on how you FEEL :)!!!
    xxx

  11. jocelynsteiber says:

    Hey there! Have an amazing trip! My friend just got home from Thailand and she said it was the best 3 months of her life. (ps is it weird I love packing?! haha I love to make things compact and see how much I can fit into a small suitcase…I’m really cool : )

    I haven’t had pasta in a while! Unfortunately my stomach doesnโ€™t digest it right…. Your food looks really good though! I love me some broccoli

    -Jocelyn

  12. leslie says:

    i ate pasta probably 5 days a week from the ages of 13 to 17. i think i fulfilled my quota for life lol. yours looks good though!

  13. You must be getting so excited!
    Dinner looks great! I do a similar thing but with just shrimp. Not sure I’ve had crayfish before?
    Happy packing!

  14. Holly says:

    oh you are too sweet! have a fabulous vacation – i can’t wait to visit Thailand again via all your pictures! happy travels and sawatdee kaaaaa!

  15. Becci says:

    I LOVE pasta…I can’t pick a favorite…I’ve never eaten a pasta that I disliked!

    Hope you have a wonderful trip!

  16. lowandbhold says:

    I don’t know if I told you already or not, but your hair is way cute!

    6 bikinis is definitely not too many – and good for you with the confidence, that’s totally the way to go!

    My faves are tortellini or angel hair with lemon garlic sauce, yum!

    Have a greaaat trip!

Leave a Reply

